h1

August 24, 2012

saVUryandsweet

I’ve been trying to get to France for over the last decade.  If I play my cards right, I’ll finally make it there next spring/summer.  In high school I took French, and fell in love with the language.  One of the first chapters was on food, and mentioned croque monsieurs along with l’orangeade and l’escargot.  I also learned the word for window which is fenêtre, which is the root of the word defenestrate – to throw (a person or thing) out of a window.  The more you know.

In honor of national grilled cheese month, I made croque monsieurs last weekend with my own twist. In case you don’t know, croque monsieurs are hot ham and cheese sandwiches topped with bechamel and more cheese.  I swapped in croissants for white sandwich bread and buddy it was good.  After nearly devouring the entire croque, my husband turned to me and…

View original post 257 more words

Leave a Reply

